Dry Laundry Detergent

Hi all,  I figured I’d start out with the product I use most often.  This is a recipe for Dry Laundry Detergent.   This is easy, effective, and inexpensive.  Here goes.  I find it handy to use a food processor for easy grinding, a measuring cup and a plastic grocery bag or a gallon size zip type bag.   I have a dedicated processor and measuring cup for this use. You can always use a cheese grater for the soap. The ingredients I use are 1 cup borax, 1 cup Arm & Hammer super washing soda (not baking soda),  1/2 cup Oxy clean generic is fine. The final ingredient  is 1/2 bar of Zote soap  approximately 7oz .   I use the pink but the white will work as well.  I find all the products in the laundry aisle of Walmart.  To start take the zote and cube half a bar about 1/2 inch cubes.  I do this over wax paper so it’s easy to transfer  to processor also less mess.  I pulse a few times then add 1/2 of the dry ingredients and pulse some more.  The dry stuff helps the soap grind finer and keeps it from gumming up.   Add the rest and let it run.  I like a sand like constancy but if you want it more powdery keep going.   Sometimes it doesn’t get all incorporated so I pour it in a bag sealed tight and shake it around.  Now if it’s in the zip bag you can leave it in there if it’s a tied bag I’d but it in a container. This recipe  can be doubled or tripled easily if you choose.  That’s it.  Clean up is easy I just put the blade and container in the dishwasher.   I use the Oxy scooper to put detergent into washer that’s about 1 TBS.  If you have heavily soiled laundry add 2.   On average it costs 4 cents a load.  Hope you give it a try.   Maria

Leave a Reply

